Book Presentations, Invited Presentations and Other News
1) Prof. Olufemi Vaughan (IIAS Faculty Member) of Amherst College, USA presented his book entitled Letters, Kinship, and Social Mobility in Nigeria at the University of Ibadan on December 29, 2023.
2) Dr. Nkatha Kabira (Cohort 2017) delivered the STIAS Public Lecture Series 2023 on October 10, 2023 at Stellenbosch, South Africa.
3) Prof Samuel Amole (IIAS Faculty) of Architecture retired from the services of the Obafemi Awolowo University following the attainment of the mandatory retirement age of 70.
4) Dr Tunde Decker (Cohort 2018) gave a talk on Notions of Poverty among the Yoruba and Implications for Development in the Yoruba Historical Conversations organized by the DAWN Commission, Nigeria.
5) Prof Sheriff Folarin (IIAS Faculty) of Covenant University published a new book, Rwanda’s Radical Transformation Since the End of the Genocide.
6) Dr. Oluwatosin Adeniyi (Cohort 2020) of the University of Ibadan delivered the maiden Faculty Lecture of the Faculty of Economics and Management Science with the title “What is African Economics, the Economics of?” on April 18, 2023.
7) Ademola Adesola (Cohort 2017) of Mount Royal University won a university grant for a new initiative on African and Black writings in Canada series: Enhancing Equity, Diversity and Inclusion through Stories and Conversations.
8) Khadidja Chergui (IIAS 2020) obtained her PhD at the University of ?? on February 23, 2023.
9) Prof Jacob Olupona (IIAS Convener) was a guest speaker at the American University of Antiqua, Antiqua. The topic was The Impact of Religion and Spirituality on Health: A Global Perspective on January 27, 2023.

Appointments and Promotions
1. Dr. Eunice Fajobi (Cohort 2018) promoted to Associate Professor, Obafemi Awolowo University
2. Dr. Tunde Decker (Cohort 2018) to Full Professor (Osun State University)
3. Dr. Tayo Owoeye (Cohort 2018), Programme Director IIAS promoted to Associate Professor, Anthropology, Obafemi Awolowo University (Glasgow Caledonian University, Glasgow, United Kingdom)
4. Dr. Lukman Olasunkanmi (IIAS Physical Science Coordinator) promoted to Associate Professor (Chemistry), Obafemi Awolowo University
5. Dr. Melvin Agunbiade (2020) promoted to Professor (Sociology), Obafemi Awolowo University
6. Dr. Bunmi Ashaolu (IIAS Faculty), Dr Olufunmilayo Banjo and Dr Damilola Agbalajobi (2020 Cohort) of Obafemi Awolowo University were promoted to Associate Professor
7. Prof Akanni Akinyemi (IIAS Faculty) was elected the first Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research, Innovation and Development) of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, Nigeria.
8. Dr. Matthew Olasupo (Associate Editor, Journal of Culture, and Ideas) promoted to Associate Professor (Political Science) Obafemi Awolowo University.
9. Prof Simeon Ilesanmi (IIAS Faculty) was conferred Distinguished University Professorship by Wake Forest University, USA in recognition of his significant contribution to scholarship.
10. Tobi Adewunmi, (Cohort 2019) appointed Research Fellow, Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, Nigeria.
11. Oluwatosin Elufowoju (Cohort 2018) appointed Legal Officer in the Legal Department of the Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital thereafter a faculty at Redeemer’s University, Ede, Nigeria
12. Dr. Opeyemi Ekundayo (Cohort 2017) promoted to Associate Professor (Psychology), Obafemi Awolowo University.
13. Prof. Morenike Ukpong (IIAS-Science Coordinator) appointed Executive Director, Central office of Research by Obafemi Awolowo University.
14. Dr. Temitope Olomola (Cohort 2023) promoted to Professor (Chemistry) Obafemi Awolowo University.

Awards, Honors, Fellowships
1. Dr. Samuel Ajose (Cohort 2020) of the University of Ibadan obtained the Alexander Von Humboldt Postdoctoral Fellowship.
2. Prof. Akanni Akinyemi (IIAS Faculty) of Obafemi Awolowo University conferred Fellow of the Social Science Academy of Nigeria (SSAN).
3. Dr. Tolulope Osayomi (Cohort 2017) of the University of Ibadan awarded the 2023-2024 Africa-Oxford Initiative (AfOx) Visiting Fellowship to the University of Oxford, United Kingdom.
4. Dr. Ademola Adesola (Cohort 2017) was given a recognition award from Mount Royal University for his funded project on African and Black writings in Canada series: Enhancing EDI via Stories and Conversations.
5. Prof Jacob Olupona (IIAS Convener) was elected into the American Academy of the Arts and Sciences.
6. Dr. Sheila Otieno (Cohort 2018) awarded the Distinguished Emerging Scholar in Religious Studies by Elon University, USA
7. Prof. David Ogungbile (IIAS Coordinator) inducted Fellow of the Nigerian Academy of Letters (FNAL)
8. Prof. Morenike Ukpong (IIAS Faculty) inducted fellow, Nigeria Academy of Science (FAS)
9. Matthias Iroro (Cohort 2019) won the Quebec Research Fund for Culture and Society for his doctoral research.
10. Dr. Oluwabunmi Bernard (Cohort 2017) of Obafemi Awolowo University awarded the Netherland Institute for Advanced Studies Fellowship
11. Dr. Olusegun Titus (Cohort 2017) of Obafemi Awolowo University awarded the Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship
12. Gabriel Chi Alonta (Cohort 2023) of Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka received the Vice-Chancellor’s Special Merit Award/Recognition as the overall best Teaching Staff in 2023

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply